The Way for Me to Live Victoriously through Jesus Christ

12 Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; 13 bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. 14 But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. 15 And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. 16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. 17 And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him. Colossians 3:12-17 

How is it that such rich passages pertaining to daily life of a Christian is not absorbed by so many.  This is one I want to hide in my heart so I won’t sin against God.  And if I follow him in his words I will know love and be love to others.  With the 40 days of Lent my focus has been brought back to God being the center of my day and I love it. 

My Heritage.

My heritage in America has been one of Christian songs, going to church, and Christian values at home…not perfect people mind you…but striving to live as God tells us in the Bible.  My maternal grandparents were passionate believers in Jesus Christ and followed him from the time they were a young married couple until their deaths many years later.  My father was not raised with a godly mother and father but did live often with his grandparents who I have heard were Christian.  My father was also a believer and a good father and he tried to do his best to raise us in a Christian home (learning and growing in the Lord) and he believed that even though he wasn’t a minister that he should study the Bible as a Christian businessman.  My grandmother and my father and a Sunday School teacher that I don’t remember her name were my mentors, the ones that prayed for me and loved me and helped me along the way to understand that it is a personal relationship with God that matters but that by our actions we show who our allegience is to.  Our master is either our self or our God.  And self  no matter how you try to make it happy just wants more and happiness is fleeting.  Where the joy in the Lord is something you can access/claim through the good and bad times.  I wish Jesus would come back today and redeem his church.  I’m so ready to leave this earth of the struggle and get on to the new life awaiting in heaven but it seems he has more for us to do here on earth.  Today my prayer is for Him to show me his self and what he wants me to see. 

Leave a Reply

