Birthdays and Being Gracious

Today is my son’s birthday. I don’t know which one because I’m one of those people that doesn’t keep track of that stuff. I just don’t get why he is so bah humbug about birthdays. Could be because his Dad is that way too…(but has gotten a little nicer about it as he has matured)  Do you know anyone else that hates celebrating his birthday?  I met someone once(my hairdresser at the time) that hated getting gifts for hers.  She said she always thought the gifts were a waste of money and was actually mad because her husband had gotten her a present.  My how we waste our emotions on so many things that don’t go our way.  I love giving gifts and getting gifts but don’t remember what gifts I give or get.  I just love that people have thought “Oh I think Sherry would love this and gets it”.  I think it is so rare that someone knows others well enough to be able to get them what would make their hearts smile.  What was your favorite gift ever?  Mine was when my husband and daughters painted my bedroom and made a video of it like Trading Spaces tv show.

One thought on “Birthdays and Being Gracious

  1. Well years ago before a became a Christian I studied with the Jehovah Witnesses and almost became one. As you probably know Jehovah’s Witnesses don’t celebrate birthdays. All I can say is very sad indeed. My family suffered when my birthday came around and they couldn’t celebrate it or Christmas with me, etc. And the thing that was so funny about this was that the day after in that religion it was ok to receive the gifts, lol. Anyway saw the hypocrisy soon enough got out of it and appreciate my birthday more now then ever. Because God made it and I’m happy He gave me a chance to walk the earth with Him.

Leave a Reply

